The Storyteller

Standard
The Storyteller Book Cover

The Storyteller Book Cover

I was really looking forward to reading Jodi Picoult’s The Storyteller.  I am a big fan of her work, particularly House Rules.  Being that this was about the Holocaust, I was really anxious to read it.

I should say to begin with that I’m not very good at keeping up with multiple plots in the story.  I’m talking about more than three or four.  This book had so many plots to it that I got kind of lost in the book.  I had a hard time transitioning between them.  For me, the overall plot of the book got lost between all the mini plots.  I’ve read other reviews of this book and found that many loved it, so it must be me.  Perhaps if I read the book again, I’ll get the plots better.

Having said that, part of the book was gut wrenching with stories of the Holocaust.  The Holocaust is always fascinating to study, but it can be very easy to start crying because of the hardship that people suffered in it.  Of course, this was no different in The Storyteller.  I found myself crying in this book.  At those points, I was totally into the story.  In those moments, Jodi Picoult’s writing style shined through.  She made me cry, just like she did in parts of House Rules.

The book also raised the philosophical question, “Should you forgive an old man who was a Nazi, and who killed people in the Holocaust, but asks for forgiveness?”  As for that, I really cannot say myself.  Part of me believes that all human beings should be forgiven, and another part thinks that some crimes are so horrific, that they cannot be forgiven.  I hope that I never have to face that kind of question in my life, because I don’t know how I would answer.

Overall, I did get lost at points in the book, but I also enjoyed other parts.  The book raised some serious questions for me, which always makes me love a book.  I like it when I’m thinking about a book after I put it down (or returned it to the library).

Based on that, I struggle with how many stars to give it.  Part of me wants to give it lower scores, because I did get lost in quite a few parts of it from the multiple storylines.  Another part of me wants to give it five stars because it was so heart wrenching and it really made you question whether the person should be forgiven.  I will have to settle with giving it three stars.  I love the book, and I disliked the book, all at the same time.  I hope the next book by Jodi Picoult isn’t so difficult to rate.

Perhaps if I read it again, I’ll understand all the plots.  If so, I’ll update the review to hopefully give it five stars.  At this point, it’s at three.

Leave a Reply

