The Alchemyst Book Review

Standard
The Alchemyst Book Cover

The Alchemyst Book Cover

In The Alchemyst, Dr. John Dee plans to steal the Book of Abraham the Mage from the alchemist, Nicholas Flamel and destroy the world.  Twins Sophie and John Newman just happen to be at the wrong place at the wrong time, so they become involved in a struggle that has encompassed legend for thousands of years.  However, they could be the only ones that can stop John Dee.

Michael Scott weaves legendary creatures and people together to create an exciting read.  I was surprised to find that many people didn’t enjoy the book.  However, I found it to be very fun.  It was quick-paced, unlike some books out there.  It grabbed my attention instantly, and there was a great deal of character development in the book.

I would have to say that if you want to read the book to find out more about Nicholas Flamel, you might be disappointed.  This book isn’t supposed to teach you about Flamel.  Flamel is a large character in the book, and you do learn parts of his story, but most of the action in the book revolves around Sophie and John.

I would also say that the pacing seems a little off.  If this struggle took thousands of years, the twins seem to be getting involved in it rather quickly.  However, if it took ten years for them to get into it, we would then say that the book moved way too slow.  I guess I’d rather it move fast than slow.  This didn’t deter from my enjoyment of the book.

Other than that, I really liked the book.  I liked that John seemed to be more hesitant than Sophie about Flamel, and that there was some conflict brewing between the twins.  This book grabbed my attention quickly, and I found myself wishing that I could read more of the series immediately.  When that happens, I know that I really enjoyed the book.  I rate it 5 stars.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Avoir pignon sur rue | One quality, the finest.

Leave a Reply

