Beginnings

Standard
Teen and Young Adult Fiction

Teen and Young Adult Fiction (Photo credit: Blue Train Books)

Well, hello world!  As you may have guessed, my first name is Amy.   As for the second part of my blog title, I am an avid lover of young adult fantasy books.  I love everything from Harry Potter to Twilight to The Hunger Games.  I’ve read many of these books more times than I can count (Harry Potter a thousand times…*looks down at fingernails nervously*).  Ahem…

Anyways, as I said, I love to read fantasy books, and give my own opinion on them.  That is a major purpose of this blog.  I want to read popular young adult fantasy books out there today and give a fresh perspective on them.  In other words, this will be a book blog on the fantastical works already available out there for youth today.

Along the way, I will also share some exciting information about the fantasy book I am writing.  I am gearing the book to 4th graders on up.  However, that being said, there will always be children out that of a younger grade level that are highly motivated to read, and there will always be older children and teenagers that are into these books, and even parents if they are interested in what their children are reading.  Therefore, this book can appeal to a variety of ages.

I will be looking at news in the young adult fantasy world and sharing it with you all.  This includes posting information about up and coming youth fantasy authors.  Therefore, this blog serves to give book reviews, information about my books, and be a fantasy news outlet.

So, how will I be starting this off?  Well, I am going to go back to my roots in fantasy and read the very first fantasy series I read.  Can you guess what that is?

I’m going to start off with Harry Potter.  I first started reading this series when I was in 3rd grade.  Back then, I didn’t know what a quarter of the words meant in the book.  All I had was a high interest in the books.  My mom was actually the person who first started me off with Harry Potter.  She ordered the first book through Scholastic, and I just took off.  I couldn’t put the book down.  And boy did I ever like it.  I read it over and over again, to the point where that poor book was ragged after only a few months.  My parents had to buy me a new copy of the book.

But that’s what started it all.  And that’s what I’m going to start with on this blog.  I’ll read through the book, posting comments about things I do and don’t like about it.  Once I’m done, I’ll post a review of it.  Then, I’ll watch the movie and see how the two compare.

Once the first book is done, I’ll continue with the second, and so on and so forth.

And so we go!

© Amy Burney, Amy’s Fantastical Writings

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: A dire dingo ate my baby. How DO you create a fantasy world, anyway? | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

